How I built a jump gate

I realize from time to time that I have super powers…I would REALLY like the super power of teleportation, but sadly that is NOT the one I have. I have the power to make a relatively quick and easy project take a REALLY long time.

I might have mentioned that we got another livestock guardian dog in June. The intention was to fence in the whole area back by the alpaca girls, goats, and pigs, then install jump gates for him to access any pasture with ease. Security, (that is his name by the way, it started as a joke and stuck) is a fence climber, so there has been no containing him. He happily goes into both the alpaca pastures and lays around wherever the mood strikes, but lately he has taken a great interest in hanging out in one of our goat pastures that currently houses our two boer goats, two “teenager” ND kids, and 4 roosters. Security grew up with goats so he is quite at home with them and they tolerate him.

security.jpg
Meet “Security”

Security and Celia

This is Security with Celia, our first LGD. They are both Maremma Sheepdogs. Rosie, our German Shepherd is sulking on the other side of the fence.

Onto the jump gate and my super power…
20170725_125109

Last weekend we did a project that included framing up walls, so we had a lot of scrap 2×4’s. The jump gates I have seen online are approximately 21″ on all sides, and these scraps were just perfect.

I built this part in minutes. You need two of these frames, they attach together with screws and then you cut out the fence. Seemed like it was going to be smooth sailing at this point, but no.

20170725_163549

Belle inspecting my “work”

I temporarily hung the frame on the goat side using zip ties. Zip ties and wood are irresistible to goats and MUST be tasted and chewed. You’ll notice that the way I currently have it the top and bottom are not flush against the fence. I had to take both frames apart and re-assemble them so the frame would fit flushly, and I could screw them together (using 3″ deck screws).

20170725_170347

Now Raja has come to inspect my handiwork and look for food, which I had none, but apparently my fingers looked tasty.

Somehow, even though I had two EXACT frames when I put them up on the fence they weren’t the same. Witchcraft I tell you. I unscrewed the bottom screws so I could re-align them.

It was very nerve wracking to cut the fence because…well, goats. Seriously they are escape artists WITHOUT a gaping hole, but I have been assured that because of the mechanics of how a dog moves and the lack of those same mechanics in a goat, they cannot maneuver this gaping hole. Time will tell.

You might notice the smaller piece of 2×4 that I added on the left? Well, I added another one (at this point, more on that later) on the right side to secure the fence to the frame more securely.

20170725_171319

From this angle (notice the lack of inspectors in this photo…apparently I was taking FOREVER and it was nap time), you can see the two pieces I added, but there is still a gap. I added two more scrap 2×4’s, I don’t know if they serve a purpose, though I think it made it look better. I should point out that each time I added more wood, I had to walk from the goat yard to the pole barn, which is probably the length of a football field…I’m not good at distance, but I am guessing that is a fair assessment. I got my exercise.

 

20170726_101736

The finished product…I say “finished” but I am thinking I can’t leave it like this. I think I am going to paint it and put the dogs names on it because I can =)

20170726_101803

Seriously though, it is only a matter of time before Clare figures this out…those devilish horns…

FYI, if you got this far and love goats and have some spare time, you can click here and view our 24/7 goat cam.

Leave a Reply

